Skip to content

Portobello Community Council


2019 Meetings

Monday 28 January
Monday 25 February
Monday 25 March
Monday 29 April
Monday 27 May
Monday 24 June
Monday 26 August
Monday 30 September
Monday 28 October
Monday 25 November


The inaugural meeting of Portobello Community Council took place on 4 October 1982 in the Town Hall. The office bearers were: Chair - George Rendall; Vice-Chair - James Hosie; Secretary - Nora Smith; Treasurer - William McDonald.

Community Councils are set up under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Although they are statutory bodies they have no statutory powers, except that local government must consult them on all planning matters.  The main role of the Community Council is to canvass local opinion and to represent the best interests of the community.
Portobello Community Council is entitled to 14 elected members and 7 representatives from local interest groups.  Community Councils are non-political and members are unpaid volunteers.  Portobello Community Council is also represented on the Portobello and Craigmillar Neighbourhood Partnership and on the Edinburgh Association of Community Councils.

Meetings are held on the last Monday of each month, except July and December, in the Baptist Church Hall in Portobello High Street.  The meetings start at 7:30 pm prompt and finish at 9 pm.  Members of the public are very welcome and you can request items to be added to the agenda by contacting the secretary at least a week in advance.

Latest Tweets

Follow @portobellocc on twitter.

Portobello Online